QAEHS Students Shine in Annual 3MT Competition

8 Jul 2024

The annual School of Pharmacy/QAEHS 3 Minute Thesis competition was held on Wednesday 3rd July. Students participated live in the Dutton Park campus auditorium for the 2024 competition.

This year, the competition saw an unprecedented number of participants, with a total of 15 students presenting their research. The presenters included Jinglong Li, Zhe Wang, Ken Tang, Lily Weir, Garth Campbell, Chantal Keane, Simran Kaur, Edward Zhai, Laura Puente, Dhaya Nadarajan, Zeyang Zhao, Nicole Schroeter, Gabriel De la Torre, Pooja Lakhey and Lachlan Chadwick.

The winners of this year’s competition were:

  • Simran Kaur, who took first prize for her presentation, ‘The secret life of tyres: unveiling their hidden impact’.
  • Chantal Keane, who was the runner-up with ‘CSI: Trade Waste Investigations’.
  • Pooja Lakhey, who won the People’s Choice Award for ‘Monitoring antimicrobial resistance, one flush at a time!’.
First prize winner, PhD student Simran Kaur
First prize winner, PhD student Simran Kaur

QAEHS Director, Prof Kevin Thomas, expressed his appreciation for all the participants, stating, “All the students did an excellent job with their 3-minute presentations. The high quality of the presentations made it a challenging task for the judges to select a winner.”

First prize winner, Simran Kaur, commented, “Competing in the 3MT was both challenging and rewarding. It was a fantastic opportunity to share my research on tyre wear particles with a wider audience and to hear about the fun projects my colleagues are working on. Congratulations to all the participants!”

The 3MT® is an academic competition that challenges PhD students to describe their research within three minutes to a general audience. 3MT® celebrates the discoveries made by research students and encourages their skill in communicating the importance of research to the broader community.